Coffee dates, brunches, lunches, me time: You can do it all | Tips to balance your relationships brought to you by Aimee Bradley

Relationships. Now I know what you’re thinking..

“Here’s another written piece about romantic relationships..”

But hold your horses, I am not just talking about romantic relationships here.

When I say relationships I am talking family relationships, friendships, your relationship with God and yes, of course, romantic relationships too.

One of the hardest things I have found in my own relationships with people is difficulty juggling all sorts of commitments to them with very limited time. Now for you this limited time could be due to anything from having a jam-packed schedule or having loads of friends.

But how do you deal with balancing all the different relationships when you have limited time?

My top tips for you are:

Plan ahead. The best way to avoid having to choose one relationship over another is to try and organise to spend time with different people in advance. I know today’s society is all about now, now, NOW and spontaneity but having set time aside to invest in your relationships with those you love can make all the difference.

Besides, this way you’re bound to fit in more coffee dates, brunch dates and appointments in that one-week.

Prioritise. I know this seems tough but sometimes we actually need to simply clear off a few things on our busy schedules to make time for those we love. What I like to do is write out a list (yes I am one of those people!) of things I:

Have to do, want to do, and could do. I find that this is a great way of prioritising things for my ‘to do’ list.

Doing this might mean crossing off a couple of the things you want to do in order to make a little more time to spend with those around you.


Don’t put off meeting with people you care about. Sometimes this can be easier than actually going through the trouble of finding a date that works for both people, but the longer you put it off, the harder it will be to organise it.

So get cracking!

Don’t be one of those so-called ‘flakey’ people who can’t deliver on something they’ve promised. If you’ve said you want to hang or catch up with someone-as the Nike saying goes- “Just do it.”

After all it’ll be worth it because you are investing time and energy into that specific relationship.

Balancing all our different relationships can be extremely hard, but setting aside time for each of the people that matter most to you is so important for many reasons. Friends, boyfriends, and family play a vital part in our lives so why not take the time to invest in them. Make the time. Plan ahead.

Pick a date.

I don’t think you’re going to ever regret investing into the relationships that might just last a lifetime.

 


guest-blogger-letters-to-corey

FEATURED IMAGE: GOOGLE

Find Letters to Corey:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter